Liebster Awards

Whilst in the beautiful island of Rhodes on holiday with family (the reason I have not been blogging for two weeks – I’m afraid my family may have deemed it a little unsociable if I were to sit blogging rather than bathing haha)… I discovered that the lovely owner of http://yesihaveablog.wordpress.com has nominated me in her Liebster awards! I advise you click on the link I have placed there to the blog because she has some great posts to read – she is much like me and has an English degree too!

Here are the Rules of the Liebster Award:

  1. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
  2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
  3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
  4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

So after being a little bit excited at the fact some lovely lady must actually be reading my blog I have answered all my questions and nominated some great blogs for you to take to look at afterwards :)

My Answers:

1.Why did you begin blogging?
I wanted to combine my love for writing with my interest in fashion and art. I consider myself to be very creative and my blog is a place to express what interests me and allows me to time to be artistic whilst writing. Shakespeare is all well and good in an English degree but what I really love about blogging in my own time is loading all my thoughts onto a page in an informal and relaxed manner.

Whilst interning at a fashion magazine and talking to other journalists, they all mentioned that a blog is the perfect place for an aspiring journo to practice – even if only your mum reads it!

2.How would you describe your blog?
Very feminine, I can’t help it! Lots of pretty pinks and reviews on over embellished items. This is what I love. The blog is informal and has a chatty tone to it – that way readers can try to relate and share their opinions by commenting. Its full of lots of photos and visual fonts, appearance is of course also rather important to me as I like to be creative!

3.What is the best thing that has happened to you this year?
Definitely the internships that I have been on this summer. Particularly at Anne Furbank, I have been offered two weeks of paid work starting Monday (before I head back to university)! My time in this village shop has opened so many doors for me that I didn’t ever dream of – including meeting the internationally respected Eric Musgrave at Drapers magazine offices, and an interview for a shop in Newcastle that I am desperate to work for. Most importantly the great relationships with Annie and her team which I will now never ever forget.

4.Who/ what inspires you?
A writer of Closet Confidential in Elle Magazine because this alone started my love for journalism, the small column in Elle magazine combined fashion with both art and interior design, all rolled in to one. I had never seen anything like it – most people are just writing about one thing but here was a chance to gather it all together and write such beautiful pieces. I based my GCSE coursework on this article and ever since I have not turned back from the path to fashion journalism.

Audrey Hepburn because she’s the most beautiful and elegant woman EVER! Art inspires me, art can be anything, an item of clothing, the view from a balcony, a homemade birthday cake! Creativity in general inspires me because without it everything would be dull and plain, I like fancy frills and pretty necklaces.

Finally happy people inspire me! Who looks good with a face like a slapped arse anyway.

5.What is your own definition of beauty?
Creativity and happiness. Creativity makes beauty on the inside and out, you have ideas and thoughts running through your head which you can then make these visual on the outside. I have never met an artist who isn’t beautiful in their own way. Happiness is beautiful because without smiles imagine how ugly the world would look!

6.Who are your top 3 bloggers?
http://julialinn.com/ – she is beautiful and her style is simple and easy to grasp but so elegant, I adore her photos!
http://charnellegeraldine.wordpress.com/ – her street style is amazing, she puts things together really well and is very on trend 100% of the time
http://loveoffleeting.wordpress.com/ – I have only just discovered this blog today but my god its amazing! Amazing photos, style and so artistic for a blog

7.What is your favourite quote of all time?
“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles” – Audrey Hepburn

8.What is your favorite item of clothing that always makes you feel your best?
That’s very hard, I become obsessed with one item then I become obsessed with another, I never seem to hold on long! Currently I would say the white dress I recently posted wearing on holiday with the embellished neckline. It’s never too plain or too dressy, it makes you feel like you’ve made an effort and its shape is flattering to the shape of my body. I love glitter and there’s a good proportion of glitter to that dress ;)

9.What is one thing you wish you could do/ be better at?
Taking photographs, I’d like more professional looking photos for this blog. However, its hard when you either have to get a cringey mirror picture or beg your brother at his knees to take a photo of you in an outfit he really doesn’t care about!

10. What are your top blogging tips?
Haha oh god I’m no professional! I will give you a tip by a fashion journalist named Emily ‘never blog too much or too little, if you write essays – noone cares, if you write nothing – there is not practice, try to blog regularly around once a week (something I am currently failing at!!!) and make sure you are 100% interested in what you are writing because that way you’ll write it better.’ I think she had some pretty good advice there :)

MY CHOSEN QUESTIONS FOR NOMINEES TO ANSWER:
1) What is the one post you have written that you are proud of and sticks in your mind?
2) Is there a particular writer or blogger that has inspired your blog in a particular way, if not, what has inspired you?
3) Where do you see yourself in ten years time if everything goes to plan?
4) Is there a dream you once had that you will never forget? – Be it humorous, disturbing, gross, amazing or saddening!
5) Does your room express you as a person – if so, how and why?
6) What is your favourite quote of all time? (I loved this one so I’ve stolen it!)
7) What to you is the definition of happiness?
8) If you could give a new blogger 3 tips what would they be?
9) If you could only wear one accessory everyday what would it be?
10) What has been your favourite celebrity outfit of all times?

The Blogs I have nominated (in no particular order at all!):
http://scrapbookstyle.wordpress.com/
http://fashionfitnessfood.com/
http://thesunwillcomeouttoday.wordpress.com/
http://pinklacewings.wordpress.com/
http://nothingsweetaboutnikki.wordpress.com/
http://loveoffleeting.wordpress.com/
http://fatalfairytale23.wordpress.com/
http://indiefashionblog.wordpress.com/
http://nnfashionshow.com/
http://newcastletonyc.wordpress.com/

I think a couple may have alot more than 200 followers but their blogs were definitely too good to miss out.

xxx

One thought on “Liebster Awards

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award: Pt 1 | Scrapbook Style

Leave a Reply

